Cast Iron NY Steak and Coffee reduction (A carnal indulgence)

 

 

I have never had any beef with a vegetarian.  In fact I have always had an amount of respect for the discipline it must take to refrain from the pure delight some animal proteins bring to the rest of us meat lovers.  Personally as a chef, I have found living with a vegetarian as a chef, impossible.  It just can and should not work. My mistake for trying, and in the end my decision to move on. 

Now single, I indulge myself with a home cooked cast iron steak.  The cast iron being a well seasoned 2 decade old pan(believe me this can really affect the flavor profile of the meat.) So here is the breakdown!

1.  1  14oz ny steak

2.  1 large cast iron skillet (well seasoned)

3.  1 oz olive oil

4.  salt and pepper to taste

 

          Remove the steak from refrigerator, season both sides with salt and pepper  and allow to rest at room temperature for 30 minutes.  Place the skillet on a medium high burner and add the oil.  When you see a small amount of smoke rising from the pan add the well seasoned steak.  Allow the steak to caramelize on both side about 3 1/2 minutes each side.  Finish by putting cast iron in a 350 degree oven for about 8-10 minutes.  Remove the steak and let rest on a plate.

Coffee reduction

1.  4 oz coffee

2. 1 oz teriyaki sauce

3.  1 tsp paprika

        Deglaze the cast iron skillet with the coffee.  Add the teriyaki and paprika and allow to reduce by half.   The sauce is done when it coats a spoon without dripping!  Add the sauce to the steak and enjoy!

 

  1. #1 by Laura on August 25, 2011 - 2:56 am

    I love cooking steak in my iron skillet. The coffee reduction sounds great. I will have to try it next time.

  2. #2 by Cleo Coyle on August 28, 2011 - 11:41 pm

    My husband and I have used coffee as a marinade, and we often do steaks in our cast iron pan. Looking forward to trying this twist (paprika and teriyaki sauce sound delicious to me).

    As for your personal situation, I hope you find your soulmate. My husband and I have enjoyed many hours of roasting, grilling, and frying all forms of meat. Indeed…some of the happiest times of our lives. 🙂 May you also find someone to share your culinary passions.

    ~ Cleo Coyle, author of The Coffeehouse Mysteries
    Coffeehouse Mystery.com
    Cleo Coyle on Twitter

Leave a comment